Working Group:

Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) in Precision Food Systems


Collaboration in ICT science and technologies to transform food and bio-based systems to enable a sustainable bioeconomy

To foster collaboration in pre-competitive science across multi-scale, cross-disciplines, challenges, barriers, and gaps related to the development, adoption, and implications of digital technology to all aspects of the food system from production to consumption. This will ensure that the power of digital technologies has been harnessed to transform food and bio-based product systems to support a sustainable bioeconomy.

Focus Areas

Collaborative research will focus on the technical and socio-economic aspects of future agri-food systems and the adoption of ICT. Economic, social, and environmental sustainability and resilience play key roles in the future of worldwide food systems. Response to disruption, product traceability, human interface, decision making strategies, and integrated sensing networks will be cornerstones of the future of ICT in precision agriculture.

Key concepts:

  • Redesigning food and bio-based production systems across multiple existing and new land uses, patterns of land use, enterprises and communities
  • Utilising cutting edge innovation and technology to produce safe, healthy and sustainable products that deliver to the needs of global populations
  • Harnessing the power of big data and digital technologies to deal with complexity and radically improve decision-making
  • Creating hyper-transparency around ethics of production, sustainability, health and nutrition, etc in value chains/networks
  • Accelerating the pace, integration and adoption of science through the use of new technology

Key Deliverables

  • Redesigning food production systems
  • Cutting edge innovation and technology
  • Harnessing the power of big data and digital technologies
  • Transparency
  • Accelerating the adoption of technology


Host Country: New Zealand

Lead: Max Kennedy (MBIE)

Sherpas: Roger Robson-Williams (Plant and Food Research, New Zealand), Jolon Dyer (Agresearch, New Zealand), and Camilla Gardiner (MBIE)

Member Countries: New Zealand, Canada, USA, European Union, others welcome