Working Group:

Forest Bioeconomy


Its main objective is to facilitate science-informed market development for emerging forest-based bioproducts and services, with consideration for asymmetries among countries. It focuses on policy alignment and horizontal initiatives that facilitate the development of a global, sustainable forest bioeconomy.

The aim is to “be a credible and globally recognized resource group that facilitates collaboration and coordinated actions among members to support the contribution of the forest sector to the bioeconomy, facilitates outreach and communication, and informs policies”.

Focus Areas

  • Communication Strategies
  • Data and Monitoring
  • Identifying and Addressing Bottlenecks, Opportunities and Risks

Key Deliverables

Communication Strategies

  • Infographic highlighting elements and trends relating to public perceptions of the bioeconomy;
  • List of indicators to measure the success of activities under this theme;
  • Short articles highlighting how the forest bioeconomy contributes to specific SDGs with examples from member countries;
  • Newsletter and/or infographic highlighting communication successes;
  • Guide book or pamphlet to share with stakeholders and the public;
  • Interactive public map of key practices and strategies; and
  • Questionnaire gathering current perceptions from government organizations, private industries and the public.


Data and Monitoring

  • Key defintions for forest bioeconomy;
  • Inventory of available data in each member country; and
  • Harmonised indicators to monitor the progress of the forest bioeconomy.


Identifying and Addressing Bottlenecks, Opportunities and Risks

  • Case study template and indicators;
  • Case studies
  • Joint questionnaire for each country
  • OECD Workshop; and
  • Map of bottlenecks and risks


Host Country: Natural Resources Canada’s Canadian Forest Service and New Zealand’s Scion Research Institute

Canada (Co-chair): Anne-Hélène Mathey, Chanchoura Schmoll, Sevrenne Sheppard, Jiali Shang, Edmund Mupondwa, Patrick Lavoie, Robert Larocque

New Zealand (Co-chair): Elspeth MacRae, Juan Jose Monge Fuentes

Member Countries: Argentina (Natalia Raffaeli, Mariá Belén Pildain), India (Ramanan Uma Shankar), South Africa (Arlene Bayley, Zander Myburg), European Commission (Roman Brenne), Joint Research Centre (Luisa Marelli), European Forest Institute (Harold Mauser)